Days 34-36

by propertysensei

The upstairs bathroom door is still working with no tweaks. We’ll see how it lasts the next little while.

These past few days was getting the main bath to a functioning state.
We have the whole fam damily coming over for mothers day.
One bathroom is not going to be enough.
Upstairs is great, everything works there; basement has a working toilet,… Strange but whatever, it’s a 2nd toilet.
The main has been disconnected when I bypassed the all the mixed up waterlines.

So as we progressed along I got to working on the bath.

First thing is first, working toilet.

Well, actually, it’s clean up the main bath area then do the plumbing.

I was using the main bath as a home base for all the tools I was using.

After getting all the tools cleaned up, I got the toilet working.

Next is to make it more private; a door.

I drew out on the floor the framing and door swing. Started framing. As I started I thought about a vanity and the kind of space we are going to have. Not a lot. I brought in an old cabinet that was sitting outside to use as a measurement.
I thought about using it. It’s very rough all around. Steph figures she can find something on kijiji.

20120507-000248.jpg

Next was finishing the framing, drywalling at least one side then installing a door.

20120507-000323.jpg

20120507-000334.jpg

We had a matching door to the upstairs bathroom door. I thought it would be a great idea to use it.

20120507-000344.jpg

So right now, we have a main bathroom with a working toilet and door. Need to find a vanity or some kind of combination ( antique dresser and vessel sink ).

Steph bought a couple of lights of kijiji a while back and wanted to install at least one to see what it looks like.

She picked up 3 done lights that are laden with what looks like crystals.
They could be cut glass; never the less, they do look elegant.

20120507-000358.jpg

We also installed a new light for the kitchen, but aren’t happy with it. It’s a simple 3 light track from ikea. Not enough light for the kitchen. If we are going to use a track light, there needs to be at least 5 lights.

While on an electrical kick, I started the rough-in for the basement outlets.
Got one line done and that was the extent of my energy for the night.

20120507-000411.jpg

20120507-000422.jpg